Judge's Night 2019

An Evening to Remember!  

We rented the entire museum, had record attendance, record fundraising and a record number of judges in attendance.

Thanks to the over 200 attorneys and philhellenes who came out to mix and mingle with us. Thanks to the law school students who came to socialize and see what the HBA can be for them and the all students who volunteered their time to help.  And thanks to the 185+ judges who anticipate, always turn out and are the huge draw for this event.  

Congratulations to our new HBA President, Vicki Karl, and the officers and board members of the new bar year who were sworn in on Judge’s Night by Judge Kocoras.  

Congratulations to the Honorable Chief Judge Ruben Castillo for receiving the esteemed Socrates Dikastes Award and Honorable James A. Geocaris for receiving a Lifetime Achievement Award. They richly deserve the awards bestowed upon them. It is the HBA’s privilege to honor these two judges.  

Thank you to Judge Anna Demacopoulos for having the vision 10 years ago to suggest the HBA should have a Judge’s Night.  Judge’s Night celebrated its 10th anniversary last week with every year getting bigger and better!  We hope we have carried her vision past her expectations.  

Thank you to the small team that makes Judge’s Night seamless: co-chairmen Frank Andreou and Athena Farmakis; the team of Lydia Faklis and Christina Faklis Adair for their help with the Law Schools and the volunteers; and a special thanks to Maria Vathis for her constant and continued support throughout the planning of this event. 

Lastly, thank you to the 26 members and friends of the HBA who so thoughtfully and generously reached out to their firms to sponsor this event. A portion of the proceeds from this event will go to our charitable arm, the Hellenic Bar Foundation, to help fund their endeavors. 

Thank you to the following individuals and their firms for contributing to Judge’s Night to make it successful:

Platinum Sponsorships

Dean T. Maragos, Maragos & Maragos I, Chtd.

Frank J. Andreou, Andreou & Casson, Ltd.

Angelo Spyratos, SpyratosDavis LLC

Christopher Carlos, Johnson & Bell, Ltd. (underwriting sponsor)

Georgia Loukas Demeros, Thompson Coburn LLP

Eleni Kouimelis, Winston & Strawn LLP

Martin Quintana, Hispanic Lawyers Association of Illinois

Maria Z. Vathis, Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP


Gold Sponsorships

Steven N. Zaris, McCarthy Duffy LLP

Spyridon J. Demakis, Cunningham Meyer & Vedrine, P.C.

Louis G. Apostol – Public Administrator for Cook County


Silver Sponsorships

Nicholas J. Faklis & Jeffrey Tallis, Faklis, Tallis & Mead

Basileios Katris & Stavros Giannoulias, Horwood Marcus & Berk Chartered


Bronze Sponsorships

Themis Katris, The Katris Law Group

Ares G. Dalianis, Franczek P.C.

Dimitra A. Anderson, Anderson Law Offices, P.C.

Fred & Kristina Chapekis, Chapekis, Chapekis & Schmidt

Diana H. Psarras, Robbins, Salomon & Patt, Ltd.

Stacy A. Georginis, Sanchez Daniels & Hoffman LLP

Dimitrios G. Christopoulos, Christopoulos Law Group, LLC

Nicholas C. Syregelas, Syregelas & Kasmarick LLC

Matthew M. Brown, Jackson Lewis P.C.

Mark Hassakis, Hassakis & Hassakis, P.C.


We look forward to seeing you next year!



Judge's Night 2019 Committee

Hon. Jeffery Chrones, Chairman

Frank Andreou, Co-Chairman

Athena Farmakis, Co-Chairman